Keep your child riding safe in a rear facing car seat with some information from
Safe Kids Campbell County:
- Rear facing car seats should be installed snuggly in the car, so that the
seat can’t slide more than an inch
- Harness straps should not allow any slack on your child (think snug as a hug)
- Chest plates need to ride at the level of your child’s armpits
- The base of the car seat should be properly secured in the vehicle.
You can find some more car seat safety tips from Safe Kids Worldwide:
Wyoming’s child restraint law states that children must be in a car seat or booster seat until their
ninth birthday—there is no height or weight restriction. Also, children
should ride in the back seats of the vehicle until they are 13 years old,
due to the positions of air bags in the front—their bodies are not
suited for that impact if you happen to be in an accident.
Did you know that four out of five car seats are installed improperly? If you want to make sure your child’s car seat is installed properly,
consider scheduling a FREE
safety seat inspection with Campbell County Health
Emergency Medical Services certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians. Technicians will train parents
and caregivers to install and adjust their car seats properly. Participants
are asked to bring the child, their current car seat and the vehicle that
they normally travel in for the check.
Inspections take around 30 minutes and are held on Wednesdays at the EMS
Base, 502 Stocktrail Avenue in Gillette, Wyoming—appointments are
required. Replacement car seats are available for a $30 contribution.
Call 307.688.SAFE (7233) to schedule.
Safe Kids Campbell County provides our community with free car seat checks
by appointment, safety seat events, bike rodeos and much more to help
educate our children. Learn more at
Campbell County Health EMS wants to you remember: when in doubt, dial 911
for help! Learn more about EMS in Campbell County, Wyoming at