Open Accessibility Menu

CCMH Granted Area Trauma Hospital Designation

  • Posted On:
CCMH Granted Area Trauma Hospital Designation

GILLETTE, WY—Campbell County Memorial Hospital (CCMH), a Campbell County Health (CCH) entity, has received designation as an Area Trauma Hospital by the Wyoming Trauma Program. The Trauma Site Review was conducted April 18, 2018, and the designation was awarded for a three year period—up for review in 2021.

The goal of Wyoming's statewide trauma system is to reduce injury, disability and death for all ages. Trauma is the leading cause of death for those between the ages 1-44. The trauma program is housed in the Wyoming Department of Health Office of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS).

An Area Trauma Hospital is an acute care facility with the commitment, medical staff, personnel and specialty training necessary to provide primary care for the trauma patient. An Area Trauma Hospital provides initial resuscitation of the trauma patient and immediate operative intervention to control hemorrhage. The Trauma Program has an established Trauma Team to respond to trauma patients and consists of: general and orthopedic surgery, anesthesiology, surgery staff, emergency physicians, registered nurses, laboratory technicians, pre-hospital care providers (EMS), radiology technicians, respiratory therapists and social services/pastoral care.

The Wyoming legislature passed legislation enabling the development of a statewide trauma system in 1993. The Area Trauma Hospital designation demonstrates the organization's commitment to quality patient care for the community and citizens of Wyoming. In Wyoming, there are six designated Area Trauma Hospitals.

  • Category: Health News