Open Accessibility Menu

Car Seat Checks

Car seat and child safety seat inspections

73 percent of child passenger restraints are used incorrectlybaby in carseat

Campbell County Health's Emergency Medical Services staff perform free car seat checks through Safe Kids Campbell County.

Every year, thousands of children are tragically injured or killed in vehicle crashes. In fact, it is the leading cause of death for children ages one to 13. A properly installed car seat or child restraint can help prevent a tragedy.

Did you know that four out of five car seats are installed improperly? If you want to make sure your child’s car seat is installed properly, consider scheduling a FREE safety seat inspection with certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians. Technicians will train parents and caregivers to install and adjust their car seats properly.

Participants are asked to bring the child, their current car seat and the vehicle that they normally travel in for the check. Inspections take around 30 minutes per child.

Inspections are held on Wednesdays from 3-6 pm at the EMS Base, 502 Stocktrail Avenue in Gillette, Wyoming—appointments are required.

Call 307.688.SAFE (7233) to schedule.

Replacement car seats are available for a $30 contribution.

COVID-19 Update

Due to coronavirus, please be aware of the following for your free car seat inspection:

  • Car seat technicians are screened for respiratory symptoms daily, and will wear a face shield and gloves for the inspection.
  • Please bring a mask for yourself and your child for the car seat inspection; if you do not have one, masks will be provided for you and your child for the appointment.
  • If you or your child are not feeling well or have any respiratory symptoms such as fever over 100.4, cough, sore throat, nausea, difficulty breathing, etc., the day of the car seat check, we ask that you cancel your appointment.

Car Seat Guidelines/Laws

Guidelines issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics in 2011 recommend that kids use a booster seat until they are at least 4’9” tall (57 inches) and weigh between 80 and 100 pounds. Children seated in a booster seat in the back seat of the car are 45% less likely to be injured in a crash than children using a seat belt alone. According to Wyoming Child Restraint Laws, children must be in a child restraint (car seat or booster seat) until they are 9 years old.

Safe Kids Campbell County Contact

Diana Shannon, EMT-I
Gillette Emergency Medical Services Base, 502 Stocktrail, Gillette, WY 82716
Call: 307-688-7233
FAX: 307-688-1179